2009 Beers in Review-Best Beer #10

9 12 2009

Well, as 2009 comes to a close, I am thinking back to my beer drinking over the course of the year. Much like other people in our country, the economy took its hit. For much of the summer, Christine and I were underemployed and that cut down on the quality and quantity of beer we were drinking. Needless to say, in these tough times, we were drinking a lot more Miller High Life, PBR and Red Stripe than we would have preferred.

But it was not all bad news! We occasionally got some yummy beers, too! For the next week and a half, I am sharing my 10 favorite beers I drank for the first time this year. If I were to make my all time favorite beers list, some of these would definitely make it. While others would not.

Many of these beers are legitimately awesome beers. And some were great beers made better by my experience while drinking them. I will do my best to let you know why I rank a beer the way I did, especially if it appears to be “out of place.”

Nonetheless! Let’s get this countdown started.

Number 10 Best Beer of 2009

La Dragonne Apres Ski Ale- BFM (Brasserie des Franches-Montagnes) Saignelégier, Switzerland

Style: Spiced Ale

Beer Rate Score: 63 Points

In European ski lodges, it is traditional to end the day by drinking copious amounts of beer. I don’t ski. I went once and almost broke my leg. I went snowboarding once and spent most of my time falling down. Both times, I spent more time in the ski lodge, drinking hot cocoa,  than on the slopes. But I am sure I could appreciate how nice this beer would be after a long day of skiing the Swiss alps.

This beer sells for $55 the Brickskeller after tax and tip. It comes in a 750ml champagne bottle and is served piping hot. I could never afford this beer. But one of my guests I served at work decided he wanted one. I showed him the bottle and explained that it would take some time as I had to submerge it in boiling water for fifteen minutes.

I brought the steaming hot bottle to him and opened it up. I poured a glass for every one at the table. It came out the consistency of hot chocolate and had a distinct boozy nose to it. Every one raved over it. My guest then told me to bring a glass for myself so that I could try it.

(Side note: 20% tip is standard for good service these days. But if you really want to show your waiter that you appreciate their work, offer a sip of something special. That is a surefire way to get great service for the rest of the evening.)

As I drank my glass, it instantly warmed me up. The combination of being piping hot, spiced, and having 7.5% ABV, reminded me of a hot toddy. And the deep, chocolaty roast of the malts tasted like hot cocoa. The hops were subdued, which is preferable as one would want the actual cloves and anise to do the work. It was amazing.

Not that I would want to drink this again anytime soon. It was an amazing beer, but it was a big beer, too. Something good for a cold winter’s night after trudging through snow or skiing down the side of a mountain. But as for everyday sipping, I couldn’t see that.

I think it was mostly the novelty of drinking a $55 hot beer. An amazing experience but mainly for the novelty of delicious, hot beer. Defintely one of the best beer experiences of 2009, if not one of the best beers. That is why I gave the La Dragonne 10th place on my best beers of 2009.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 12 2009
JoAnne

You big tease, I was expecting to see all 10! Now you make me wait? I hate waiting!

10 12 2009
awinnett

Sorry JoAnne, got to milk it for all its worth. If I can get a weeks worth of posts, might as well take it! Thanks for reading though.

Leave a Reply

