Best Bocks 2010: #1 Bell’s Consecrator

2 04 2010

Photo Credit: Lightbikesheavybeer.com

There is not a lot to say about this beer other than its a solid beer from a solid brewery. I really dig everything Bell’s does and this spring seasonal is no different. Released on Fat Tuesday, this is a true dopplebock specifically for lent. As it looks more and more likely that I will be moving back to California this year, I am bummed I won’t be able to get Bell’s beer for a while. Better drink up while it lasts!

Bell’s Consecrator Dopplebock, Bell’s Brewery (bellsbeer.com)
Rate Beer Score: 90 Points

Aroma: Malt forward with honey, caramel and old school fruit snacks. Definitely the fruitiest dopplebock I have ever smelled. Slight mint on the back-end from hops.

Appearance: Deep copper red with very faint highlights. A loose, tan head of large bubbles that dissipated quickly. Medium-sized carbonation.

Flavor: Sweet maltiness with a very round center of fruit snacks again. It brought me right back to the school yard and that chewy, sticky, fruity taste. Sour cherry, berry, and citrus. A slight minty hop character and then some good balancing hop bitterness. Finally, a slight warming alcohol to cleanse the palate.

Mouthfeel: Very smooth and creamy. Medium body and, yet, very chewy. Moderate carbonation aids in the scrubbing of the palate.


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 04 2010
benton

Bells is the shit.

bentonheimsath.wordpress.com

7 04 2010
jenningsjj1

Wow this sounds like a pretty good beer. I really like your beer reviews. I will have to take some notes as I work on writing my beer reviews. They are kind of amateurish…but I hope that as I go out and try more microbrews and engage in the beer drinking community that I will be able to improve my writing.

Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

http://amateurbeerenthusiast.wordpress.com

Leave a comment